Over the last several years, many of us have celebrated the repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, the inclusion of gender identity in Title IX (protecting the rights of students), and the legal acceptance of same sex marriage.  The coming years will potentially present lots of challenges and changes.  While the Hudson Valley LGBTQ Community Center continues to provide a safe and supportive environment, offer programs (2708 persons participated in outreach and professional programs so far this year), and serve as home for community groups (18 weekly and monthly support groups meet each month), the Center is committed to become a leading voice in the LGBTQ community. Under the leadership of our new Executive Director, Jeff Rindler, we can accomplish that goal.

We will become stronger advocates for civil rights and protection for all members of the LGBTQ community as well as expand our coalitions so that all can accomplish “positive social change through advocacy, community education, cultural awareness, and wellness programs that assist in the creation, development, and growth of LGBTQ affirming organizations, institutions, and culture within the community at large.” (Part of the Center’s mission statement)  That means creating new educational forums to learn how to protect our legal rights and the potential legal implications of attacks on those rights;  expanding programs for HIV testing, youth, and elders; reaching out to all members of the LGBTQ community; and increasing the number of community members who participate in programming at the Center.

Please help us work to educate and protect our community, build our programs, and expand our advocacy by sending a donation to our annual appeal now by clicking here.

All of the staff (Tess Martin, Alyssa Tullin, Jake Salt, and Jeff Rindler) and all the board members (Ginny Apuzzo, Christine Crawfis, Fran Divine, Michael Frohnhoefer, Harold Goldman-Bonavita, Raleigh Green, Bob Hirsch, Fred Mayo, JoAnne Myers, Chris Petsas, Deborah Schneer, and Ron Van Warmer) appreciate your assistance with our annual appeal and pledge to meet the challenges of next year with strength, creativity and commitment.



Frederic B. Mayo

Board President